1/11/15 -Shane

I heard a message today about uncertainty. There are so many things in this life that are uncertain. Our careers, our health, who we will marry, when will we die? When I look back on my short life thus far, I would of never guessed in a million years that this would be the life I now have to live. Anytime I’ve ever thought of a plan or thought how the future would play out it almost never happened how I expected it to go. There is going to be uncertainty in every aspect of our lives. But I can tell you one thing is for sure…When you put your trust in God and allow him to work through you he will open doors and take you places you would never have expected. I mean look at my life, who would have thought after such a traumatic accident I would be traveling the U.S. giving hope to people in similar situations like mine. Jeremiah 29:11 says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” When I got in this accident it took me a few weeks after coming out of my induced coma. Seeing and hearing everything I went through and knowing that if it wasn’t for God Id be dead, I had no choice but to let go and let God have the reigns. For some it may be harder to do but when I did the worries and fear of of never walking again left me. I know God is going to see me through this and heal me. But, for now this is his time and I must be obedient to his word. Sometimes God makes our toughest battles our greatest testimonies.
This morning I went to A Place In Time Christian Ministries, which is a church that is led by two very close family friends of mine, Pete and Tricia Heng. The ministry they are doing is amazing, you can see Gods glory shine so abundantly through them. I am so grateful for both of them. Tricia is the strongest woman of faith I have ever met, I look up to her so much. She has helped my faith grow stronger and has helped me to put my trust in God and letting him take control. She is battling cancer and amongst everything they are going through she put’s God first, for his glory. I am so blessed to have them in my life. And I lift up continued prayers for her healing and strength for both of them.
It took me six years but I finally made the move home for a while. I am living and going to school at FIU in Miami. I left just in time as the winter came and is hitting hard. I plan to finish my education here in FL. I would love to get involved and speak to teens or college kids about drinking and driving so if anybody has connections where I could reach out to the youth please let me know.

I ask for prayers for my brother in christ John, he lives in CT and is in a power wheelchair. He can’t move his arms and has to be taken care of 24hrs a day. I ask everyone who reads this to please lift him up, ask God to give him strength and to heal his body. For God to show him his purpose. My heart is heavy. John is an amazing individual. I can attest personally that the power of prayer is real and is the strongest form of medicine around.
Thank you and God Bless!
Love Shane

7 thoughts on “1/11/15 -Shane

  1. Once again, Shane…you amaze me!
    I am so happy for you and you decision to finish your education…and out of the cold winter is a bonus.
    I certainly will keep you and your friends in my thoughts and prayers.
    THANKYOU for sharing!!!!

  2. It was a blessing to meet you at church on Sunday. I have been following, and praying for you in your journey through your updates here. When Pete started his sermon I thought that you also could have been up front sharing the same message, as you did and always do so well here online. Thank you for that, and blessing me and so many others as well. I whole heartedly agree with you about A Place in Time Ministry, and most definitely about Pete and Tricia. I join in ageeement with you in prayer for them and for your friend as well, and for you and your family too. I hope to see you again, it was an honor. Until then, peace.

  3. Shane,

    Thank you for your continued messages. It is so encouraging to see your continued faith in Christ as you continue this journey.

    Isn’t it just like God to constantly challenge us? You decide to come to school in So. Florida and now your mom is based in BOS. I spoke to her in Sept. and she is so very proud of how you are trusting God in your daily life, the challenges you face, the traveling opportunities that are becoming available to you.

    If you ever need anything, please don’t hesitate to reach out as I am in Hollywood, just up the road.

    You are the light on the hill in your realm. May God continue to bless you.

    Debbie Richardson
    AA Miami
    Hollywood, FL

  4. Have I told you today how AMAZING you are and how proud I am of you ???? It was so great to see you at the Y just before you left for your latest adventure !!! Hugs, Patti Hill

  5. Shane-I just love reading your posts. In this particular one, I hear the voice of a mature, Christ-centered, positive young man who has direction and purpose. You are so ahead of many young adults your age in your wisdom and outlook on life! How blessed we all are to know you and watch you grow! Congrats on your move back to Florida. As for speaking engagements at schools, I suggest starting with your own high school counselor and explain what your goal is to speak to teens about your drinking and driving. I have always seen you doing this type of ministry! God Bless you Shane!

  6. Hello Shane, Mr. Lenny here. Young man you are quite an inspiration to those that are not in your position but feel that life is not fair. I always look forward to reading your updates and pray for you. God Bless from the Altman family, Mrs. Cindy, Michael, Brian and Mr. Lenny

Leave a comment