9/30/2015 –Three years 

It’s hard to believe it’s been three years already, since I’ve been in a wheelchair.  I’m so grateful and blessed to have come so far.  Looking back on my life, I’m thankful for so many things, but most importantly for being able to connect with God and grow in a relationship with him.  I have a long way to go in my recovery but rest assured this will be beaten one day.  I want to reach a point in my life that if I could take back the car accident, I would choose not to.  I haven’t reached that yet but I feel like I’m on my way.  I have met so many amazing people and reached out to many others that I wouldn’t have been able to reach if this accident didn’t occur.  This accident has given me perspective on life and has shaped my mindset forever.  Going through this hardship from day one has been incredible to see how the body of Christ has been working and moving together, from people praying and supporting me, to being there for my parents and family.  I’m so blessed to have such a strong support system, so I thank you.  I thank God for leading me through this!  This has allowed me to take a step (roll) back and reevaluate my life, to see what is really important.  This has helped my character grow tremendously.  God has given me a platform to be able to share my story and reach out to people I could of never imagined.  There is so much I want to do with my life and I’m eager to get out into the world and change it forever.  It’s amazing to see the other side of things, looking at the positive from every situation, choosing to live life instead of letting it drag you down.  I’m going to write a book one day and make a movie when I’m out of this chair…stay tuned.
I want to ask for continued prayers of God’s healing over my body, that he sees me through this one day. That I can play soccer and stand on a boat again.  Thank you!

Love, Shane

3 thoughts on “9/30/2015 –Three years 

  1. Shane, you are such an inspiration to so many out there. I am amazed at what God has done, is doing, and will continue to do in you and through you. He is glorified by your attitude, heart for Him, desire to share so that others can be inspired, encouraged, and have a relationship with Him, and so that others don’t go through what you had to go through. God loves you I know that much! I’m definitely praying for the miracle that you are asking God for. I pray that he will give you the desires of your heart. Thank you for sharing your story and your updates. Keep it coming! Love you!

  2. I am constantly astounded by how your light continues to shine so brightly and boldly Shane! God is truly working through you. Write that book. Someone might need to read it. Someone might be touched by your words. Someone’s life may be changed! We have never left your team – still praying each day that you reach your goals. Love to you from all of us here in Pennsylvania<3

  3. Dear Shane, you have our continued prayers for a complete and thorough recovery through God’s grace. You continue to honor God and give him glory with your positive attitude and outlook on life. We believe that you have been especially blessed with your unique individuality, and we believe that God has many, many more blessings in store for you. Stay strong, keep fighting. Love to you,
    Dave and Melinda Schmidt

Leave a Reply

