9/30/13-shane

Well, it’s official.  This past sunday makes a year since my accident.  I can’t believe how far I have come.  Looking back over this last year I just have to pause and give God the glory.  I am so thankful for what I have accomplished.  Since getting home on Christmas day I have gone snow and water skiing, have completed a triathlon, am currently on a wheelchair basketball team and am riding in the Hartford marathon in two weeks which is a 26 mile bike ride.  What I’m most proud of though is where my heads at. My faith in Christ has helped me get through each day and continues to draw me closer.  I believe God has put me in a situation where he wants me to focus on him as all I need.  I could have gone in so many different directions coming out of the hospital in a mental standpoint. Haa, “stand-point.” The challenges I have overcome and still continue to over come everyday fill my with gratefulness.  I have gotten some return back in my left thigh with some sensation, and my left hip flexor with some muscle.  I’m praying this next year will bring me great amounts of muscle return.  I started talking to high school kids through this program called Think First.  It’s about spinal cord and brain damage  injury prevention.  I’m hoping to be able to talk with college students as well, telling my story and about the repercussions of drinking and driving.  I’m blessed more than I can ever imagine.  God is great!   I ask that everyone can keep a friend of mine in there prayers, his name is John.  I just ask that you pray healing over his life and for God to use him for great things.  He is dealing with a lot more difficult situation than I could ever imagine.  But I can tell from talking to him that he has a very strong spirit.  God bless!!

 

Love Shane,

10 thoughts on “9/30/13-shane

  1. Shane, once again I am amazed by you! Your faith, your positive outlook, and your perseverance! God is truly using you for greater good! God Bless, Lynn

  2. Shane, What you have accomplished in one year is miraculous. Next year will be so exciting. I am enjoying following your post. I pray for you every morning. Arlene Morzinsky

  3. Your faith lifts me up Shane! You continue to inspire and amaze me with your attitude. Even though your journey is a rough one, you forge on and keep the faith. God Bless you Shane as you show us all how we should live out our lives by pushing ourselves beyond limits, persevering, and by being so grateful for what we have. You are one of a kind and I am so proud of you and your accomplishments. Love & Hugs

  4. Shane, you have accomplished more in 1 year than many of us will accomplish in our whole lives!
    Your spirit and drive is so inspirational .
    Thank you for talking to high school students about your journey, you WILL make a difference , love from South Florida

  5. Thanks for keeping us up to date. I always read your posts,pray,and thank God that we are never alone. I miss you and the family. Your an amazing man like your DAD! Our father in heaven is more amazing than amazing and your DAD on earth is a dad that every child should have. Glad and happy to hear from you and hope to see you soon. Love you guys,
    Joe in Florida

  6. Shane, I took the liberty of sharing your progress with my husband Richard over the past year. We both are very proud of you and have been praying for you from the sidelines. A question for you, Richard (Uncle Dickie) would like to share part of your writings, without of course names, to his St. Aloysius Church Comfirmation class next week. Your strong faith will be inspiring to the Class. Thanks!!!! P.S…did I tell you today you are a hero????
    Pat Hill

  7. Shane. i continue to be amazed with you. And I know others feel the same and i have seen that word used by other on your blog. you are a blessing to many. i do believe those kids need to hear from you and God thru you

    i continue to remember you in my prayers and will now add your friend
    Love to you and the family

  8. Shane, you are an inspiration for all who know you. Your strength, preserverence and commitment to healing are incredible! Your dedication to helping not only yourself in the healing process but to helping others by telling your story is so brave. We hope and pray that you continue to heal in your body, mind and heart.

    Andrea, Luciano and Liliana Tellez

  9. Hi Shane! Found this blog update in our saved mail file, don’t know how we missed it. Prayers are being sent up for your friend, John. Honestly, I think one of his prayers has been answered with you being his friend. Everyone has difficulties in their life and until your heart can feel other’s difficulties, you sometimes forget your blessings. But, not you, Shane. Your clarity and your sprituality can and is making a difference in people’s lives. May God continue to use you in this way. It is the highest honor. Keeping your healing in our prayers, and your friend, John, as well. Love, Dave and Melinda

Leave a Reply

