4/30/13 post by Shane

These past couple weeks have been going well.  I had a surgery yesterday to take a filter out just above my groin.  The filter was put in to prevent blood clots when my accident first occurred.  The surgery went great and recovery was just a day.  I have been pushing the Esko to new heights; getting smoother transitions and more steps each time I use it.  I have almost reached 1500 steps in less than 40 mins of using the Ekso.  I am trying to reach out to any study and research groups to be a candidate for any testing in spinal cord injury research.  This past week my parents and I went to Cape Cod to start opening the summerhouse up.  We are working on installing a ramp for me to use.  For now my dad has to wheel me up a few steps, which isn’t the easiest amongst tasks.  But just like everything else we’ve made it work.  Through out this experience so far I’ve learned that its through trials and tribulations that we develop our character and who we are.  It’s every opportunity that we can take and learn something from that helps us grow.  I’m thankful for the function that I have and being able to be here on this earth with a second chance to grow mentally, spiritually, and physically.  I’m grateful for the opportunity to beat this paralysis.  I’m going to beat this; One step, one prayer, one day at a time.  It’s God’s time right now.  He has the plan I just need to stay focused and follow it. 

            I asked for prayers of sensation and strength back in my legs.  For prayers of strength and will power, to keep pushing forward day in and day out til I’m healed.  I hope all is well and everyone stay blessed! Lots of Love! And thanks again for everyone’s support!

                                                                                                            Love Shane,

14 thoughts on “4/30/13 post by Shane

  1. Shane, you are AWESOME. God definently has a big plan for you!! Thanks for allowing us to be part of your journey, ❤

  2. Thanks for sharing. I love to read your updates. I’m keeping you in my prayers. I cant wait to see all you do in your life. I just know it will be fabulous! Love- lrod

  3. Shane so nice to read your “updates”, I am proud of the strength you have mentally and physically. We were glad to hear your procedure went well this past Monday. Keep taking those steps however you can, keep looking forward!!! Pray for you and your family daily…..Love you “Unc” David

  4. Shane, thanks so much for the update!! I was golfing with your Dad and the Tuesday league as you were writing this!! It was such a beautiful day that I didn’t even care that I had to “pick up” after double par at most holes!!! it was just not in the cards for me to win today…..but it didn’t matter….good people, fresh air and exercise…can’t beat it!!! I am so glad to hear of your progress. I told your Dad at the start of this journey, that I prayed you would not let what you have learned go to waste. FORGE ON!!!! There is much for you to do in this wonderful world!!!!! Praying ever day for you as you continue on the road God intends you to take !!!! Always, Pat Hill

  5. So glad to hear the surgery went well and you are doing so well with the Ekso. I have to admit that I didn’t know very much at all a bout Ekso – just what was in my imagination through description. I found a website that was pretty fascinating and now I envision you doing the same. You are the bionic man! Here’s the site: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tgWrCNH9gHc&list=PL77748E27729BDFC8 Is this the same as what you use?
    May God continue to bless you Shane with healing and miraculous wonders!

  6. Shane,   Many people are praying for you.  Your posts are inspiring to many of us who struggle with  lingering medical issues. You are wise beyond your years. Our God has no limitations.   We pray he contimues to heal you in all ways.     Mr. Alex

    Respectfully,   Alexander Saris

    ________________________________

  7. Shane, I want you to know that I think about you often. I have been praying for you daily. Just wanted to let you know. I love reading about your progress. You are amazing.

    Miss Marcia

  8. Shane,
    You continue to amaze all of us following your progress. You really are “wiser than your years” and your faith and trust in the Lord is truly inspiring. We have no doubt that you will one day reach your goal as God has planned. Continue to trust in His plan and you will reach that goal. We thank you for sharing your journey with all of us. Sending much love.
    Denise, Dave, Ryan and Matt

  9. Psalm 27:1. “The Lord is my rock and my salvation, who (what) shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life. Of whom (what) shall I be afraid?” This is the verse that Dave’s late father, a career FBI man, recited while walking to his first meeting with J. Edgar Hoover. This made us think of you and your amazing faith and strength of will. We know you are on the path to a full recovery and we pray for continued strength and willpower. God bless you and your family, Dave and Melinda

  10. You are so right about one day at a time, etc. Its easy to get caught up in the small things. Thanks for reminding me! Luv ya KC

Leave a Reply

