Post by Shane 1/9/13

The time I’ve spent home so far has been great.  It’s so nice to have my friend’s home from school.  Being around friends has helped me cope with my disability a lot easier.  The support I receive from friends and family, I don’t know if I would be able to get through this with out them.  I’m so blessed to have such a caring sister.  Chelsea put together this book for me that tells my story.  From my accident to me at the hospital, going through therapies, to my incision.  She also had some friends and family write me letters from when I was in the ICU trauma unit.  The book is my story, my testimony of the challenges I over came and still to conquer.  It means a lot but there is still some space to be filled, when I’m walking again.  I started my out patient therapy today with evaluations from different therapist.  I’m very excited to get started with my out patient therapy.  I truly believe that with determination and hard work I will walk again.  I’m getting stronger everyday, which is so important in my situation because my hands are my legs…for now.  I anxious for my pic line to come out so I can start swimming.  Once I get into a routine in outpatient therapy I feel that it will help me to get feeling and movement back faster.  I ask for prayers of a full recovery and that I can get sensation back in my bowels and bladder.  Out of everything the loss of my bowels and bladder has been the toughest to cope with, mentally and physically.  I’m not ashamed to say it I guess it comes with the territory but specifically I need some prayers on that.  Only time and prayer will tell how far I will get but this is a game of patience and determination.  Knowing God is in control and he loves me and only wants the best for me.  All I have to do is believe and receive! 

 

            Thank you all for keeping up with my blog and for praying for me.

 

                                                                                                           

                                                                                                —Love Shane

12 thoughts on “Post by Shane 1/9/13

  1. Shane, I’m rooting for you. I pray for YOU all the time, your amazing!
    PS,
    not to be taken lightly BUT,
    believe it or not..there are a lot of people out there,some you may know,that have pissed or pooped in their pants. I being one of them.

  2. Shane, nice to read your post. I had some very minor surgery yesterday and was just having a “down ” moment….your post picked me up. I am very impressed that you have much of your experience written down….please do not waste your experiences….help others with what you have, and will continue to learn. Someday soon, I hope we meet. I would like to share with you, how my husband and I were able to use our son’s negative behaviors to help hundreds of people. For now, prayers for you everyday!!! Pat Hill

  3. I never thought I would be praying for bladders and bowels 🙂 but you’ll continue to be prayed for..
    You were a fighter when you were 3 and thankfully, nothing has changed. I see your Mom’s fighting spirit and your dad’s clarity and calm. Your Mom would take no for an answer, but ignored it until she got what she wanted 🙂 Keep up the great work…

    • SHANE: Although we have never met I have felt the love you friends pour on you daily. It truly is God’s work.
      The day, moment, I found out that my Supervisor at American was leaving, I immediately e-mailed the person I knew that could get me into your mothers group. I e-mailed him my request and within miniutes I got a response that said: “I’ve already done it.” She truly is a wonderful person and is able to hold herself together when she is here in Miami working. It is clear to me that you are able to draw strength from her. Mothers always seem to draw a little more and then again a little more strength when they need too.
      I am following your recovery and praying for you and your family daily.
      May God give all of you and your support team an extra dose of blessing and continue to guide your improvement.
      Steve

  4. We love you too, Shane. It is a testament of God’s great love for you that he has placed this love in our hearts for you. We know you will regain control of your body and your life. Always picture yourself that way. That is the way we are picturing you in our minds. Thank you for the heartfelt post. Your sister is amazing. God bless you both every minute of everyday.

  5. We pray daily for you Shane and know without a doubt that God is listening and will answer our prayers in his time. We love you!!! Peggy and Tom

  6. Shane, I am in agreement with your prayer request and by faith I proclaim your healing!! I thank GOD for all HE is doing in you. I trust in God’s perfect timing and I know that all the prayers for you will not go unheard. I trust in the way He will answer, however that looks. I admire your faith, courage, long-suffering, patience, and thankful spirit. In His Love, Ana Adler

  7. Amen! It will be as you said and according to your faith in Jesus name….you will walk and fully recover by the Grace of God….Hebrew 4 says that if you are in need, boldly and confidently enter into His Throne of Grace… You have direct access to His Throne thru Jesus……There is an ocean of grace and mercy just for you. Praying for you!

  8. I pray for you every day, Shane, I will “zero” in on your request regarding your bowels and bladder. Continue praying and working out with your physical therapists, you’re an inspiration to us all and I have no doubt you will fully recover! Please give my love to your parents. All My Loving, Raysa McNeill

  9. There’s no doubt in my mind that you will make it through this shane, you are a strong ambitious young man with the heart of a champion who never gives up. Your courage along with your faith in god leaves no doubt in my mind that you will fully recover. I will continue to pray for you as you go through the recover stage. I love you bruh God bless. – Darwin & Maleche

Leave a Reply

