New Year’s day post by Shane

Happy New Year!  These past few days have been a learning process.  You could say I’ve been making moves.  I have been out to the mall a couple times, in and out of cars and I even ventured off to the movies.  Once I find a routine this new process will be a lot easier.  It was so great to have my mom with me these first several days I’ve been home.  Helping me to get adjusted and acclimated to my new surroundings.   This New Years was special for me as well because I spent it with my family.  My Mom cooked a huge dinner last night.  We all indulged in steak and lobster.  This New Year is an opportunity for new hopes, new happiness, it’s like a new beginning.  The New Year is a time for new actions and prosperity; to change the way we are and live, for the better.  This is a time to conquer new challenges.  As I go into this New Year I pray that I can be closer to God than I ever was before.  I pray that as I learn and get accustomed to this new chapter in my life I look at the positives and most of all just be thankful.  Thankful for having a great family, great friends, and one of the best support groups that I could of ever asked for.  As this New Year comes I plan to count my blessings every day and lean not on my own understanding of why and how, but in all ways acknowledge the Lord so he can set my path straight.  After tonight I’m on my own for a while as my mom goes back to work.  I guess it’s time to put on my big boy pants and get it done.  I have therapist coming to the house tomorrow along with some nurses so its back to work for me.  I’m anxious to start my out patient therapy and even more anxious to start swimming.  I know that’s going to be one of the best therapies for me.

           

            I hope everyone has a great and blessed New Year.  I ask for continued prayers for a full recovery.  Praying my quads and hamstrings start firing so I have some muscle to work with and get stronger.   Thank you!           

 

 

                                                                                    –Love Shane

3 thoughts on “New Year’s day post by Shane

  1. HaPpY New Year Shane, I just want to let you know that I think you’re awesome, extremely inspiring and so proud of you.
    I will continue to pray for your progress through this journey.
    I believe our Lord has BIG plans for you, Kathy Tucker-Fadul, with Ashley and Ryan Tucker

  2. If anyone can do this Shane, you can! It will be another challenge to be on your own today, but you have the determination inside of you and God’s grace to manage it all!

    1 Peter 5:10 And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. (NIV)

  3. Shane, we have never met, but I feel as though I know you. I’m an AA Flight Attendant in Miami. I’m a friend of your mom’s, Gail. I’ve been following up with your recovery and praying for you. I have two sons (17 and 18), so I’m coming from a motherly perspective. I’m a believer and your parents’ and your comments on your blog have inspired me so much. It is beautiful to see how God is turning everything to your good for His purposes. God has a huge plan for your life. I’ve seen His power in your life. He’s equipping you to help others. You have already helped a lot of people with your faith and trust in the Almighty God. We see how in any circumstance God can still bless us with hope, strength, peace, and joy, and still acknowledge our blessings in the midst of the storm. Keep pressing on. I’ll keep praying for a full recovery and for God’s glory to shine. I’m so proud of you and your family for sharing your faith in our Lord! God Bless You! Xiomara Christman

Leave a Reply

