12/27/12 post by Shane

Being home for the past couple days has been a bag of mixed emotions.   On one hand, I’m so ecstatic to be home and with my family.  But being home is when your emotions and realization of being in a wheel chair hit hard.  I want nothing more than to just stand up every time I sit down.  But it’s not enough to just think it in my mind.  Knowing that I’m bound to this sitting position and the scary part is that it’s only the beginning.  I am coming to grips with this new state of my life.  Hoping and praying that one-day with hard work and determination I’m going to walk again.  Taking my comfort in God and warding off these bad thoughts of my paralysis.  All I can do is fight and pray with every inch of my being.  I get so worked up an emotional sometimes thinking about my condition all the things I can’t do now and activities I have to sit out from.  I remind myself when I’m feeling down that it could be much worse.  I have my arms, my brain, my face, my heart they all work and are capable of loving, of hugging someone.  There are so many people on this earth that have it so much worse than I do I should be jumping with joy well technically not jumping but overwhelmed with gratefulness for what I do have.   These past couple days have been like stepping out into a new world for the first time.  Yesterday I was able to go to the gym and work out with the help from some friends.  It was great to get out and to not let this hold me back.  There have been multiple people stopping by the house daily for homecare and physical therapies.  Tomorrow an occupational therapist is coming to the house to work with me.  I was able to work with a family friend today doing some physical therapy exercises with my legs.  She helped me to stretch and work on flexibility with my legs.  I even laid on my stomach today and was able to stretch out.  Felt good to get off my but for some time.  Tonight my parents and I went out to dinner then to the mall where we visited my sister at work.  It felt great to get be out in the world and not cooped up in the house all day.  I’m getting acclimated to my new life.  Thank you Lord for all you do, for the small things we take for granite everyday like having a bed to sleep on at night a pillow to rest our heads and water to drink when we’re thirsty.  

            Thank you to all the people who take time out of their day to read this blog and see how I’m doing.  I ask for continued prayers for healing, strength, and perseverance.  I also ask that prayers be said for me to draw closer to God and to seek his will.  God Bless!

 

                                                                        —Love, Shane 

5 thoughts on “12/27/12 post by Shane

  1. Hi, Shane, thank you for continuing to share your daily activities. You are such an incredible young man! I am praying for healing and strength. All I know is we have to trust God’s plan for our lives. Joshua 1:9 says “Have not I commanded you? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be you dismayed: for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.”

  2. May God bless you Shane. You are so humble, you don’t even realize what an inspiration you are. We have no doubts that you will walk again and anything else that you set your mind to. Just continue being the blessing that you are to those around you.

  3. Shane, we really appreciate you writing the blog, so we know how you are doing. It’s also good for you to journal your feelings because it will ultimately help you cope with all of the changes you are experiencing. Please know we are continuing to pray for you each day and your blog help us to tailor our prayers to your needs. Sending love and hugs your way….

  4. Hello Shane…..hang in there my young friend…..you have come so far, and I feel in my heart, with your faith, family and determination, you will walk again some day. Please continue to keep us updated on your progress…..all the best, Debra

  5. You and your family are in my prayers. Your faithfulness and trust in God is a light to everyone who you are in contact with. God can work miracles, maybe not as we would wish, but to His glory!

Leave a Reply

