Friday night post 12/14/12 –Shane

Today was a much better day for me than yesterday. I don’t know what caused such depression in my heart yesterday; I guess everyone has his or her good and bad days. One thing I’ve learned from this is experience so far is that you just have to move forward. You’re allowed to get upset and have rough days but tomorrow brings a new day. I spoke with my mom this morning and was a little emotional over the phone with her but she said “Shane lets pray” and so she led the prayer asking God to give me strength, asking him to show me his will, to give me courage and making this day a better one for me. As I’m sitting here writing this tears fill my eyes when I think of how grateful I am for my Mother. Who has sacrificed so much so that I may live a better life. You are truly the greatest Mom in the world. After praying with my mom we said our good byes and I went to my physical therapy. At therapy I worked on the mat moving my legs with what little movement I have so far; Lord I give you the glory for that. It was lunchtime after that than back to therapy where I put on the braces for my legs and used the parallel bars to help me stand and take some steps. Although I cannot feel my legs my hip flexors work and I’m able use them to hike up my leg and swing it forward. My therapy session ended and I didn’t notice but my dad dropped by to give me some necessities since I just got back to Gaylord from Yale after my back surgery. It was great to see my Dad and was an awesome surprise; he was there the entire session and was able to see me walk. After my therapy I went back to my room I was in utter shock hearing about the school shooting that took place today. Sitting in my room praying for the families of the loved ones lost on this horrific day made me stop and think of just how blessed I am even with my situation. There are people out there with a lot worse events and dilemma’s than mine. I have life easy compared to some. I ask that the same prayers that go out to me also go out to the families affected by this event. Today really opened my eyes to a lot of things and made me count my blessings that much more.
I pray daily for God to show me his will. And today he spoke to me in Romans 12:2 “Don’t copy the behaviors and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will know what God wants you to do, and you will know how good and pleasing and perfect his will really is.”

Thank you again for all your love, support and prayers they’re helping my family and I get through this together as one family, God’s family. God Bless you all.
–Love Shane

16 thoughts on “Friday night post 12/14/12 –Shane

  1. Shane I have said it before and I will say it again you are one amazing young man. God has awesome plans for your life and I don”t think you realize how many lives you are changing by your faith and strength. Keep working hard. You are an inspiration. Yes the people of Ct. And this world need our prayers. What Is happening to people to do such terrible things. God bless you and your family. P.S. Your mom IS a truly amazing mom!

  2. Your Mom is AMAZING and she’s obviously passed on her will and determination to her son…you are very blessed to have a family with the amount of love you share….Godspeed and may you always realize, you can and will.

  3. Shane,
    On a day of such horror and tragedy, your words mean so much. We’re so glad that you’ve returned to Gaylord and can resume your therapy. You do have an awesome mom and dad that we are blessed to have as friends. We offer our prayers to the Lord that you continue to progress and that He will walk the path with you, gently guiding you. Continue to work hard and keep the faith. Hope to see you soon.
    Much love to you and the family,
    Denise, Dave, Ryan and Matt

  4. Thank you for your beautiful words Shane. We have never met, but your mom has been my manager for many years. I agree that she is a wonderful person and I love her for that. I know God has plans positive plans for you. Hugs to you and your mommie, Donna Leon.

  5. Shane,
    After reading your post, I was able to turn my day around. It was a sermon of inspiration! I had a bad day with emails to worrying parents, kids who couldn’t get their act together, demands beyond reason, and yet, it all faded away when I heard the horrible news about the shooting today and your perspective on the situation; it was a validation for all of us on how we should live our lives.Amen! You rock Shane!

  6. Our Lord never gives us more than we can handle. You, as well as all the people who lost children and parents today in that senseless murder are in our prayers. You, like they, will get up tomorrow, and with care from God, friends and family, will face each new day with strength and faith that each day will be better than the one before. We’re so enriched that my dad “found” his Florida relatives. Keep up the fight, Shane. We know your never tiring parents will as well.

  7. Shane never had the pleasure of meeting you but I did have the pleasure growing up with your mother. She was strong back then and even more today from what I have read on your blog. Keep your chin up and your spirit will be higher!!!!

  8. God bless you Shane!!! And God bless your whole family!! I just love your mom and agree u have an amazing mother of great strength, and a heart of gold! U and your family are an inspiration to many!
    Sincerely,
    Jennifer Hall

  9. Shane, what incredible words of faith and wisdom.yes you will have good &bad daysbut as you wisely stated others are suffering to and yes we will continue to pray for Gods grace and healing for others and for you ,one of Gods many precious children.One day at a time , may God continue to give you grace and patience but most of all for the gift of such strong, loving and incredible parents that we have the pleasure of calling them very dear friends. Keep fighting the fight. Love to all Chris, Laurie Kristen &Nathan

  10. What a wonderful message. It was great hearing from you. God bless you and Merry Christmas to you and your family. You are in our thoughts and prayers.

    Sometimes horrible things happen to people. Those children and the other victims yesterday are at home with The Lord. Our hearts break with sadnes, yet they are at peace.
    Pam Weilbacher

  11. Shano-Mac, You’re an exceptional young man! Your feelings were clearly defined in your blog entry. Very powerful. God helps those that help themselves. Your faith will lift you up. Peace.

  12. Shane, I read this late Friday night, and as I read I felt so many different emotions! You are such an amazing young man who is truly putting God first in your life! We can all learn so much from you! Then last night at church, one of the readings was Philippians 4:6-7. 6 ‘Have no anxiety at all, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, make your requests known to God. 7 Then the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.’ God will bless you Shane!

  13. Shane. You’re an amazing young man and such an inspiration to all who know you. Never forget that . God gives us strength and carries us as we trust in Him and The Holy Spirit certainly shines thru you as a light to us. Love You. Aunt Janice.

  14. Shane, I can’t stop crying reading your message. You most definitely are bringing hope and healing to many who read this. May God continue to work in your life and may HIS will and presence continue to dominate your thoughts, actions, heart and emotions. Your parents are amazing people. I love how you love them! The way you are loving them and honoring them is heartwarming and emotional to me. God bless you, Shane. I pray for your recovery, healing, and outcome from this situation. I pray for God’s glory to shine upon you so that whoever comes in contact with you will never be the same. Others will come to know Jesus Christ as their Savior, Hope, Redeemer. Healer, Sustainer, Yahweh, Raphah, because of your testimony! Keep writing Shane! Keep glorifying God in the midst of your trials! God will never leave you nor forsake you.
    A scripture for you: 1 Corinthians 10:31 So whether you eat or drink or WHATEVER you do, do it all for the glory of God. Shane, you are definitely glorifying God writing things like this!
    May God continue to bless you and give you abilities you never dreamed you had! In HIS love, Ana Adler (Everglades Comm Church, Pembroke Pines, FL)

  15. Hi Shane loved your blog today. You are such a tough kid and seeing the horror of what happened in the school and realizing that you are so lucky to be here is great. You have a great spirit about you. We still hope to get down there soon. You sound so much stronger now and you must be anxious to get on with your studies. Lucky you have the internet to keep you busy. I would go crazy I have ants!! Everyone says hi. Barret is home for Christmas. He has a kitten and is terrorizing my rabbits so it’s like a zoo. Never a dull moment. We hope to see you soon we wish you more continued healing and prayers. Love you Beth, Mike, Barret and Ari

Leave a Reply

