10/25/12 from Mom

Good evening,Shane had a restful night and began his day with a test from the Respiratory therapist to see if he was ready to cap the trach and also to see if he was able to swallow. Shane became very disappointed and frustrated. Shane did ask the nurse to get the Chaplain who came in and we prayed for Shane’s healing. Shane remained with his eyes closed the remainder of the day and slept until about 8 when he finally broke down and cried. We cried together and talked or shall I say I talked as Shane still cannot talk, however his hand writing is becoming easier to read each day that he is off the high doses of medication.

We are very blessed to have a friend who made a call to someone they know who works with mobility challenged people. This gentleman called me today and then called The Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation to have them contact us. It was enlightening to have a conversation and begin the process of understanding what lies ahead for all of us. My sincere appreciation for the contact.

Shane is in the beginning stages of processing what lies ahead for him. He will probably have a lot more days like today but we are praying that he will find his can do attitude and take this on.

Thank you for caring.

12 thoughts on “10/25/12 from Mom

  1. But thou o Lord art a shield for me; my glory and the lifter up of mine head. I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill, Selah. I laid me down and sleep. I awake again, for the Lord sustains me. I will not be afraid. Psalm 3 3-6.

    Praying for rest through out this night. Love you.

  2. One day at a time . Shane will get thru this too. It sounds like he has a great team of professionals caring for him . A suggestion: I’ve had a few patients (especially the younger ones) who don’t like the Passymur speaking valve (cap) in. They feel claustrophobic and suffocating with it . The trach cuff has to be deflated and Shane could place a finger over the trach opening and speak. Start with one word. Hello It works. Also with the cap in ,secretions clog and can’t be as easily expectorated. Call if any questions. His ability to verbalize. would make such a difference. Love Aunt Janice.

  3. Gail and Jack…just to let you know we pray for Shane daily. Also to let you know I am a nurse and work with many patients with paralysis. I have an amazing young man that I have worked with for years. Todd was in a motorcycle accident and has the most amazing attitude I have ever seen. Todd is willing to talk to Shane when he is ready! His mother would also talk to you as a caregiver. Just let me know! You are all loved and we are here for you! Love The Delbridge’s

  4. You are in our thoughts constantly as you enter this new phase of recovery. We pray for Shane’s ability to move forward through this new challenge. He is loved and cared for by many, as are all of you. Thank you for taking the time out of your days to keep us all informed of Shane’s progress.

  5. Gail,
    So happy for the wonderful progress that Shane is making. My thoughts and prayers are with ya’ll every day.
    Marsha

  6. As parents we all cry with you and wrap our arms around Shane. Tears are needed to move through the days, I pray that Shane will feel the love and support and use it in his recovery. For now,we all cry and hold him close in our hearts. God Bless you all.
    Cindy & Lenny

  7. We continue to pray that all of you have the strength to meet the challenges ahead. Know that you have the love and support of all of your family and friends through this journey. His reaction to his situation takes time for him to process. We know that all of the prayers that are being offered for him will help him overcome the challenges that lie ahead. Love to all.

  8. My dear friend, I can’t even imagine the pain you all are going through, Just reading Shane was crying brakes my heart and tears come to my eyes. We need to hold on to our Lord JESUS.. Remember… Joy comes in the morning!
    Our love and prayers are with you.

  9. I can’t tell you how touched we are by the daily updates you post about Shane’s journey. He is continually in our thoughts and prayers. He is blessed to have such a wonderful, loving family.

    The Lord bless thee, and keep thee:
    The Lord make his face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee:
    The Lord lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.

    Brad & Chris Schumacher

  10. challenging days to come but much can be accomplished by faith and belief. have this saying on my refrigerator I kept from the youth groups service several years ago……I have one life and one chance to make it count for something…….and that something I have chosen is my FAITH. God Bless all of you Love Chris,Laurie,Kristen&Nathan

  11. Gail and Jack we are all praying for your whole family Matthew and Ashley ask me all the time how Shane is they remember him on the bus, let him know they are praying for him stay strong we are here for all of you! God Bless!

Leave a Reply

